Dr. Osonye Tess Onwueme
Playwright   Novelist   Scholar   Cultural Activist   International Speaker   Performer


"Tess is a rare jewel in this country..." - Dr. K. Kendall, Smith College, MA.


Exalted New Post / Fonlon Nichols Prize / My Work Is Larger Than Any Female Ideology 

Guardian news (The State Of My Art)


Latest NEWS 


Professional Organization Memberships, Offices

  • The Writers' Guild of Great Britain
  • Pen International Writers Associations
  • International Women Playwrights Association
  • African Studies Association (ASA)
  • African Literature Association (ALA)
  • Playwrights/Directors Initiative (PDI--A Philosophy of Thought on Black Theatre in The 21st Century, ETA Theatre, Chicago)
  • International Advisory Board Organization of Women Writers of African Descent (OWWA)
  • Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA)
  • Black Theatre Network (BTN)
  • International Consortium on NTCE
  • Society of Nigerian Theatre Artists (SONTA)
  • Pan African Writers Association
  • Literary Society of Nigeria (LSN)
  • Member, Advisory Board, Literati Internationale published by the Southern Illinois Univ., Edwardsville


International Administrative Positions Held

1997-1999: Member, International Advisory Committee, International Women Playwrights.

1994-1996: Advisory Committee, DrumVoices Review: Confluence of Literary, Cultural & visual Arts, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, IL

1990-Present: Member, Editorial Board, Literati Internationale, published by the Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, Illinois.

1988-1991: Member, National Advisory Board, United Black Artists, USA, Headquarters, Detroit, Michigan, USA.

1988-1989: First Female President (ag.), Association Nigerian Authors (ANA).

1986-1987: Vice President, Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA)—with Chinua Achebe as the serving ANA President.

1986-1989: National Vice President, Society of Nigerian Theatre Artists (SONTA).

1986-1988: Head, FUTO Theatre Unit, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Nigeria.

1984-1987: National Assistant Secretary, Literary Society of Nigeria (LSN).

Powered by © AyacLab Web Development